Entrusting the world with another of my offspring

I know she has been going to nursery, and I know she has been ready to go to school for the past year, but it my logic deserted me when Lisa got ready for her first day at “Big School”.

IMG_2682

And for once there was very little protest at my need to photograph everything

IMG_2684

IMG_2691

So off we trotted to school only to find that, even after all the planning we were half an hour late.

Now I’m naming no names, **cough**Mrs Geek**cough**, but it would appear that we misread the instructions. But my brave little trooper just marched on in to her classroom and joined the rest of her class mates on the mat for a story.

IMG_2697

Two and a half hours later, she was released from class. I asked how it was and if she enjoyed it, the answer I got was “It was fine”. There she goes again getting over excited 🙂 !?!

I can not tell you how proud I was of this little girl today … it does remind me of a song that I heard on the radio, which totally took me off balance as Paul Simon was totally not on my musical Radar … but I think it is possibly the most beautiful song I have ever heard (I know not exactly showing my masculine side today again)

I just would love to know if there was anything quite as wonderful about boys too.

9 Responses to Entrusting the world with another of my offspring

  1. RC says:

    Darn it… I can’t see the video on this computer, so I don’t know which song it is! And I am rather fond of Paul Simon, from his Simon and Garfunkel days (before my time a bit, but mom and dad loved them, so I grew up knowing all the music).

    Your “Lisa” – gorgeous! And I love her school uniform. I wish we had more school uniforms here in the States. Just don’t share that last thought with the teenaged me, as she would despair that I feel that way now.

  2. Mr Geek says:

    The song is Father and Daughter, and talks about how he is going to watch her grow and shine and … well it is definitely worth a listen to any parent.

    As for the school uniforms, I totally agree. It sounds daft, but seeing them all in their uniforms instils confidence in the school’s ability to maintain discipline within the school without turning into a prison camp. It is however another expense that we could happily live without 😦

  3. Nemma says:

    how gorgeous does she look?????????
    Im dreading next thursday, Jack starts nursery and I have to admit that even when I took him for his taster session I got a bit emotional when he toddled off to play on his own!
    Im buying some kleenex and seeing if someone can have luke that morning so I can cry on my own lol

  4. […] Im having one of those wobbly lip moments…. Its suddenly dawned on me that this time a week tomorrow my handsome gorgeous little man will be starting his first day at big boy school. Thanks to Richards post about his little girl starting school https://onegeekspeaks.wordpress.com/2008/09/03/entrusting-the-world-with-another-of-my-offspring/ […]

  5. Mrs. Mustard says:

    I love the uniforms. As a kid, I detested the idea, but as a parent and teacher, I am ALL for it.

  6. Mr Geek says:

    Nursery is the heart breaker. I remember when Bart started, he would cry when we dropped him off. The first couple of times I stayed to “spy” on him, and it took him all of about 2 minutes before he was happily playing with the other kids, yet even knowing that he was perfectly happy, it still upset me to see him cry. That lasted for about 3 weeks 😦

    Lisa was totally different, because she grew up with Bart going there, she saw it as perfectly natural that she should be going too.

  7. Mr Geek says:

    Mrs. Mustard: I completely agree. As a child, I saw it as marking me as a child … I hated it! Yet last year when looking for a new school for Bart (Long story), we happened to chose the school with the most traditional uniform I know.

  8. mrsvierkant says:

    The uniform is absolutely adorable. I wish we had uniforms at the elementary, middle and high school levels. Your daughter is beautiful.

    I love that Paul Simon song, but I also really enjoy Paul Simon.

    I hope she had a wonderful week at Nursery.

  9. Mr Geek says:

    I had obviously heard some of his more famous work, but none of them really appealed to me, but I have to admit that this one really hit home.

    I really am going soft 🙂

Leave a comment