Damn you Bloglines

Arrhhhh!!!

Why is bloglines failing me? I like many others love the convenience of bloglines for keeping all my feeds together, and I therefore keep up to date with all of the blogs that I follow. But for some reason it has started to rebel against me. I know I have a lot going on in there, but I am sure I am not a power user if such thing exists.

It has been totally overlooking some people’s posts, even dropping feeds altogether. Why bloglines why! I trusted you! And now I what shall I do … I am not about to start doing things manually, but my work blocks Google reader, does anyone know of any other decent ways to keep track?

P.S. If you feel I have been ignoring you lately, I apologise and blame it all on bloglines! Give me a kick and I will ensure it is back in there πŸ™‚

14 Responses to Damn you Bloglines

  1. RC says:

    I use Google Reader, as thankfully, it isn’t blocked, so I have no other thoughts. You are the second blogger who has mentioned a bloglines issue, though…

  2. Daisy says:

    Sorry I can’t help – I also use Google Reader and have never had any issues.

  3. Bob says:

    I was just about to suggest Google Reader, as it’s what I use. Sorry I don’t have another suggestion!

  4. mrsvierkant says:

    Oh, I don’t do anything fancy. I just visit my favorites and if there is something new I read/comment and then if there isn’t I move on. πŸ™‚ I’m low tech, LOL.

  5. tendrils says:

    I use Bloglines too……maybe I should pay attention more! πŸ˜‰ I did notice last week when it didn’t recognize new posts, but only that one day. Are you still having issues?

  6. imhelendt says:

    Steve uses a Windows Live reader I think it is? It’s just like the google reader. πŸ™‚

  7. Mr Geek says:

    All: Bloglines seems to be working again for now, so will stick with it. Just be aware that if I seem suspiciously absent for a while, give me a nudge and I will likely blame it on Bloglines (convenient … no?). At some stage I will get around to writing a mac client to the RSS reader I wrote a number of years back for scraping Helen’s blog for reading off-line, but for now I will have to stick with what I have got.

  8. Tony Single says:

    Hmmm… I tend to do all of this kinda thing manually, which is just the way I like it. It forces me to check others’ blogs often. πŸ™‚

  9. Mr Geek says:

    Tony: I am not into the whole Free Range blogg reading … I like mine to be cooped up and ready to consume πŸ™‚

  10. jono says:

    Perhaps have a look at these. I am assuming you are a Windows user, if not there is a load for Linux and OSX as well. I personally use FeedDemon.

    http://email.about.com/od/rssreaderswin/tp/top_rss_windows.htm

  11. Mr Geek says:

    jono: I am PC at work, but Mac at home, so I need a solution that works cross platform. I wrote a PC client a number of years back to scratch an itch as they say, but my needs have changed. I want to keep track at home and work, so a web app meets this need, but a nice client that worked on bot would be nice, but I think I’ll end up writing one myself as I am picky like that.

  12. Daisy says:

    I’m sorry, but did I just read a Geek speak to another Geek in what seemed like English but not quite?!!!

    Ha ha ha ha…

    Daisy

  13. jono says:

    But what you couldn’t here Daisy was the binary encoded carrier signal that was hidden in the data stream. Haha. πŸ™‚

    Bottom Feeder is a good cross-platform solution, but IKWYM about writing your own. I started a while back but like many of my projects it is not finished.

  14. Daisy says:

    Oh trust me, I think I saw the data stream.. it looked a bit like in the matrix, no?

    And.. I’m so proud of myself, I figured out “IKWYM” stood for, and I’m still stunned…. geeks really do like to mess with writing their own stuff to get things just right.

    Daisy

Leave a Reply

