Miracle Landing By Super Pilot

OK. We all heard about the plane crash where they all walked away last week, right?

Emergency LandingEveryone has rightly praised the pilot for pretty much single handedly saving the lives of all the passengers. However, since then people have been throwing out statistics such as there is only a 2% chance of the plane not breaking up on contact etc …

Am I the only one to notice the implicit challenge in this? There must be blokes everywhere thinking … “I could have done that” … and the worrying thing is a small percentage of them are probably pilots. MSNBC is even giving instructions

I for one will be avoiding air-travel in the near future … at least until the testosterone levels have returned to normal and the pilot is once again deemed to be mortal!

5 Responses to Miracle Landing By Super Pilot

  1. RC says:

    I’m going to guess you didn’t have any air-travel plans in the works. And yes, I worry about people creating hero situations. (In my side life, as a firefighter, we hear stories all the time of people creating problems in order to rescue folks.)

  2. smurfy says:

    munchuesen by boing?

  3. Mr Geek says:

    RC: This was based on a silly conversation I had at rugby on Saturday … I was not even thinking of the possibility of it actually happening … It goes to show, there is no fictitious situation so crazy, that someone has not already trumped.

    smurfy: It was not the attention seeking aspect I was aiming for, just that I know a good number of blokes that no matter what situation you say the respond with “I could have done that”. Land a plane … “Easy” … Bungie Jumped off a bridge in and grabbed a fish out of the river below … “did it last year on holiday” … Cliff dived off Big Ben into a glass of water … “well I did it off of the top of the empire state building!”

  4. Elena says:

    It is kind of sad that they can’t even let the poor pilot have his moment.

  5. Mr Geek says:

    Elena: I don’t think he has done too badly out of the whole event. I don’t think anyone seriously thinks anything other than he did a marvelous job … I did file it under Silly … maybe I have to use more smilies πŸ™‚ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜† πŸ˜› 😈 :mrgreen:

Leave a Reply

