Share Your Photos

I am always taking photos. Mainly of my children, but often when they are with friends it is inevitable that I will take pictures of them too. This is a good thing because my kids will want photos of the people they grow up with.

Every so often I get a photo of someone else’s child that I know is a great shot (I’m not blowing my own trumpet, while I like to think I am quite good, if you take as many photos as I do, sheer chance means you will capture a few great photos). I know that if someone else had that image of one of my children I would be very grateful if they were to send it to me, yet something makes me hold back from sending it to them. Maybe it is because I am a bit more reserved without my Mr Geek veil of anonymity, maybe it is because I don’t want to be labelled as “That Guy”, but today I read the New York Times Article about Allen Goldberg and his son Henry. A story that I think has pushed me into sending those pictures. This REALLY is heart wrenching and I will confess to blubing a little when I read it, so do so at your own risk. I am not sure that those extra photos would have made all the difference, but he makes a good point, those photos should be shared!

For the story Click here

5 Responses to Share Your Photos

  1. RC says:

    Heartbreaking. And I’ve had a few photos, not just of kids, but other people, that I’ve tried to share, since I know how wonderful it feels, when you find a photo you don’t remember taking or having, of a loved one you have lost.

  2. Just a Mom says:

    I take alot of pictures especially at my kids school. I always pass photos on when I have them.

  3. Tendrils says:

    Very heartwrenching! Hubby and I both take photos of Punky with his friends and thankfully for email, we usually share them fairly quickly with the parents. πŸ˜‰ This just makes it seem like we’re doing teh right thing, as you never know what is going to happen in life.

    On a side note, mr. photographer…….we’d love to see more pics you’ve taken on your blog! πŸ™‚

  4. Cass says:

    I’m so glad that you passed that story on too. And I’m glad that like me it’s prompted you to share your work with others that will enjoy it!

  5. Mr Geek says:

    RC: Yeah OK. It seems I’m the only bad guy that hasn’t been sharing … I’ll fix it … honest πŸ™‚

    Just a Mom: As above … maybe it can be a new years thing for me πŸ™‚

    Tendrils: Don’t you start. Mrs Geek has been complaining about the lack of photos in our house. The problem is I take many but develop few. She likens it to the story of the cobbler’s children going to school bare foot! Personally I think she is being a little dramatic!

    Cass: It really was a moving story. I apologise for not passing on the link to your site, but I stumbled upon you when looking through alltop.com and then promptly lost track of where I got there from … A problem now rectified as I have now put you in my bloglines πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

