Christmas Meme-ories

OK, even though I still have not got around to the last Meme that both RC and Tendrils tagged me for (I’m not at my computer to look at my photos and when I am [Cue the violins] I am too manic to remember to look it up)

But I have gone ahead and robbed this one from Tendrils anyway because I love Christmas and it was too good to pass up (P.S. I too have added the WordPress Christmas Snow … Yipee!) (P.P.S The OCD made me change the many uses of Favorite to Favourite … The voices in my head made me do it :-p ) (P.P.P.S … and color!)

Cola Cao1. Egg Nog or Hot Chocolate?
Hot Chocolate. If for no other reason than I have never had Egg Nog! One of the few things we here in England have not decided to copy. I really did develop quite a liking for Cola Cao (slightly thicker, and richer than normal hot chocolate) when Mrs Geek lived in Spain.

2. Does Santa wrap presents or just set them under the tree?
Family presents go under the tree, Santa fills the stockings and sacks by the fireplace. Each child has different wrapping paper to avoid confusion. (He really is very considerate).

3. Coloured lights on tree/house or white?
White. I don’t know why, I just feel they look nicer.

4. Do you hang mistletoe?
Never have, but they were selling it when we got the tree last year, and if I had more money with me, last year would have been the first… Therefore I anticipate this year being our first Kissmas 🙂

5. When do you put your decorations up?
Anytime in December that we have opportunity. This year Mrs Geek seems to have taken much of the load as they are mostly in place, yet I have not been party to it. I believe the Tree and the paper chains are being left for me. The Tree because it is heavy, and the paper chains because I have to get the big ladders out.

6. What is your favourite holiday dish?
Here in the UK traditionally Christmas day is our “Turkey Day”. But we gave up having a traditional Christmas dinner in our house as it became too much effort to police the children on a day when we just want to be happy. Therefore it has now been ruled that Christmas day is “Favourite Food” day. This meant that last year the adults got turkey and all the trimmings, Bart got lasagne, and Lisa got fish fingers and potato waffles. I think I will stick with the Turkey.

7. Favourite Holiday memory as a child:
Christmas day as a 6 year old playing with my “Space Lego” while the adults were sleeping off the turkey.

8. When and how did you learn the truth about Santa?
What truth? I met him last year… Jolly nice man he was too 🙂

9. Do you open a gift on Christmas Eve?
No way (Shame on you Tendrils)

10. How do you decorate your Christmas Tree?
Mrs Geek and I have built a collection of little decorations over the years, but many are still the super cheap decorations we bought from Lidl for £1 on our very first Christmas. Alas fewer and fewer of them are making it through each Christmas.

11. Snow! Love it or Dread it?
I LOVE snow! But we get so little of it, it does seem a little wasteful to have it on Christmas day when there is already so much going on. That said two years ago was my first White Christmas, and it was lovely.

12. Can you ice skate?
Yep. I used to like in a city with an Ice Rink so it was an integral past of my childhood. But it tended to be a summer activity.

13. Do you remember your favourite gift?
As this is a clean blog (ish) I will assume this means when I was a child. In which case I will go with my old Atari 2600 .

14. What is the most important thing about the Holidays for you?
Happy people. I love seeing people happy.

15. What is your favourite Holiday Dessert?
Again I am very English… Christmas pudding (with a coin in) with custard! (Hold the brandy/sherry/other nasty spirits). I am also quite partial to the odd mince pie.

16. What is your favourite holiday tradition?
Going to the Pantomime on Christmas Eve with the family … which isn’t going to happen this year 😥 .
And going to my friend’s church for carols by candle light (which hopefully is going to happen, although it may be a bit late for Maggie)

Chubby Angel17. What tops your tree?
A chubby little angel doll, mounted via a twisted coat hanger. She was another hold over from that first Christmas where we couldn’t afford anything better, but I don’t think we will every want to replace her.

18. Which do you prefer: giving or receiving?
Giving. I’m not claiming to be all altruistic, I just like seeing other peoples reaction.

19. What is your favourite Christmas Song?
I have always loved the carol “Away in a manger” … but I think my daughter’s school rendition of “Mary, Rock Your Baby” has it now 😉

20. Candy Canes! Yuck or Yum?
Neutral … I would much rather have chocolate.

That’s it … There seems to be no mention of tagging others in the original post, so I will not tag others other than RC because then I can point out that I tagged her even if Tendrils neglected to 🙂

P.P.P.P.S. On the subject of memes this was Published Post #99

11 Responses to Christmas Meme-ories

  1. Tendrils says:

    Ok, seriously, you must understand that I celebrate Christmas in Minnesota with my husband’s family on the 20th…..then with my little family of three on Christmas Eve, and then we drive 8 hours to Chicago on Christmas Day to celebrate with my family! Otherwise, I would totally be a good girl! 😉

  2. Tendrils says:

    p.s. that was uncalled for….tagging RC! 😉

  3. RC says:

    Opening gifts on Christmas Eve was the way I was brought up, too. Christmas Day was all about going to my dad’s parents and church.

    As for the Hubby and I, we do one gifts at his mom’s on Christmas Eve. We open one gift at home right before going to bed, also. Christmas morning is for the rest.

    My family squeezes our Christmas celebration in whenever the sisters can make it home, now.

  4. RC says:

    p.s. Thanks for thinking of me, since Tendrils never does… 😉

    p.p.s. I’ll try to work on this one near the end of this week, or over the weekend.

  5. Mr Geek says:

    Tendrils: You drive 8 Hours on Christmas day!?! It’s a wonder you get time to open anything! Mrs Geek has been trying to persuade me that we should each open a present on Christmas Eve night for years, and I cheated last year by buying her something dull, knowing that she would ask, and then letting her have that.

    RC: I understand about the busy Christmas day. My parents came up to us last year on Christmas day so it was Santa’s Presents, Church, Food, Grandparents Presents … play. Everyone else’s presents had to wait until boxing day.

  6. tendrils says:

    Atari 2600 rocked!!!!!! We got that for Christmas one year from Santa………. I loved pitfall, pac man, frogger, super breakout, donkey kong and bowling….those are the games that pop in my head……

    Ahhhh……..memories!

  7. Mr Geek says:

    Yeah, it rocked… don’t forget Asteroids, Donkey Kong and Defender were all great games, and I killed many a Joystick playing Track And Field. I also really liked Kaboom with the paddles.

    I believe all games consoles should come with wood veneer panels 😀

  8. Mr Geek says:

    Garrhh … I just realised I did not link to the MP3 of Lisa’s song … I will do it when I get home!

  9. Just a Mom says:

    ahhh, the Atari 2600! We used to have Family Atari Olympic Night once a month when I was a kid. We kept track of who scored what on what games. I know stupid but so much fun! My favorite games were Pole Position and Centipede.

  10. […] Quiz 2008 I find it fun that Mr. Geek tagged me to do this meme he took from Tendrils, since I was tagged last year to do a similar one, about this same time,  by […]

  11. Mr Geek says:

    Just a Mom: As an only child keeping track was fairly easy. I have to admit that I never really played those ones. I have been having childhood flash backs since posting this, and I remember I also spent an unhealthy amount of time playing river raider 🙂

Leave a Reply

