Back Again

OK so I have been gone a while… OK more that a while… Mea culpa.

Let me explain. I will start by saying that none of the following is meant to extract sympathy from anyone (Quite the contrary, I am in a rather happy place at the moment). However it seemed impossible for me to start writing again without addressing the fact that I have been gone for so long.

Recently I have been burning the candle at both ends in trying to keep on top of everything.

For those of you that do not know my personal arrangements, I am in the process of starting a photography business, and for now it is still small steps, but as is often the case with these things, work seems to come in spits and spurts. Add to this I am currently averaging around about a 50 hour work week with my day-job (needs must and all that), and I am trying to not make it impact too heavily on the time I have with the family, it leaves me getting up early and going to bed late.

Thus many of my “optionals” have had to go out of the window… I already watched little enough TV to make it a non-issue, but much to my horror I seem to have now stopped reading entirely. The last book I read was Witches Abroad back in April. I have also failed to keep to any kind of regular running schedule since the summer. I have even neglected twitter and I believe I am in danger the geek police taking away my membership!

As I said in the intro though, I am actually enjoying the current arrangement, I have been taking the kids to school each morning, I have ensured that I have not missed any of their events (Bart seems to have a significantly more active social life that I do) and I have made sure that I get to see Maggie as much as possible.

I have also resisted the pressure to stop playing rugby, and thus I continue to make Mrs Geek into a rugby widow each Saturday, a fact that has not exactly gone unnoticed in my household.

I also think that podcasts have kept me relatively sane over the past few weeks as I have been listening to them whilst travelling/processing photos/doing the dishes and any other time that I can multitask (I am a male so multitasking only works on a limited basis).

But blogging is for me a “Whole Brain” activity. It needs to be what I am doing. But I really do like doing the whole blogging thing. As well as being the closest thing that I am likely to keep to a diary, by describing what is going on in my life and venting frustrations etc, I really like reading other people’s blogs and adding to the community. But I now have over 1000 unread bloglines entries. I made an attempt to start reducing the number, but I feel I am unlikely to catch up.

The OCD in me makes it difficult to admit that I am not going to catch up with all I have missed, but the more I refuse to admit it the further I get behind… and the larger the barrier to my rehabilitation 🙂

I therefore declare myself BLOGRUPT!

However I recognise that the same OCD will make it really difficult to be a “casual” reader so I will have to cull the heard and slim down the number of blogs I try to keep up with.

P.S. Thankyou to RC and Tendrils for nudging me out of my blog paralysis! I will do the meme, when I get back to my computer (honest).

5 Responses to Back Again

  1. RC says:

    Blogrupt. I like that term and let me assure you that there are others of us that are OCD – even when it comes to reading blogs. And then I feel guilty when I don’t comment. Thus, the “blogcation,” where I inform everyone I probably won’t catch-up and force myself to delete what is left in my reader, after a quick glance through – and then I start fresh.

    I was just worried about you. That is all. I love your input into my computer/tech issues, and live to hear the sarcasm in some of your responses. You make me think and you make me laugh. I also love seeing how different, yet similar, lives can be across the big pond – and how perspectives differ from males to females.

    Just glad you are okay.

  2. Mr Geek says:

    Thankfully all is well. At least everything that a good night’s sleep wouldn’t fix 🙂

  3. mrsvierkant says:

    “Blogrupt” I so understand that! Glad to see you back.

  4. Tendrils says:

    Love your verbage! Welcome back! 🙂

  5. Nemma says:

    Goos to see you back! I was wondering how things are going!

Leave a Reply

