B’Day

No, it was not a poor spelling for a follow up to Wat Da Daddy’s post on cleaning ones bottom, today I turned 32.

They say that you are only as old as you feel, but I think that could be the problem. My back aches, I am tired, I am forgetful (I lost my wallet, which since been found by the wonderful Mrs Geek), and my previous post was an “In my day”! I promise I am really only 32!

So in time honoured fashion of people feeling too old, I am going to ignore my birthday and tell you about Bart’s birthday which was on Saturday.

It started way too early for a Saturday. Most weekends he is up with the birds, and we tell him to read until his sister wakes … an arrangement that suits everyone. This Saturday, this was not an option. You could see the excitement oozing out of him.

He had been wanting to take guitar lessons for the past year, and the teacher finally got a opening, so we got him a guitar, and having had him “play” for us, after all of one lesson, I can say it is not nearly as bad as we had anticipated. There is something quite relaxing about an acoustic guitar, even when played badly.

BowlingAfter opening his other presents, it was time to get ready for his party at the local bowling alley, who it turned out had 5 childrenโ€™s parties on and 3 members of staff. 2 hours of chasing around after 10 eight year old boys, given soft drinks, cake and balloon swords, I felt like a sheep dog on overtime. I fear this may have aged me 5 years on its own. Still I think they all enjoyed it and Bart certainly did, which is what counts ๐Ÿ™‚

Make A Wish

9 Responses to B’Day

  1. RC says:

    Happy birthday to both of you! (And yes, Chris had an awesome post, I would have to agree…)

  2. Thank goodness he asked for a guitar. Listening to the violin after one lesson would not be quite so relaxing…or the bag pipes!

    Hang in there. You actually start to feel younger as you age, if that makes any sense. I’m 45 and yet feel younger than when I was 35.

  3. Mr Geek says:

    RC: Thankyou … and yes I liked his post, but I am still not exactly sold on the idea. We have a bidet in our bathroom (was there when we bought the house) but the kids think it is a foot wash ๐Ÿ™‚

    Urban Panther: Beginners violin is the classic Torturing a cat noise that we were anticipating … big relief. As for the age, My Wife says that I should give up the rugby.

  4. Tendrils says:

    How did I miss this post?!?!?! HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY! You’re so young! ๐Ÿ˜€ (I’m only 2 years ahead of you!)

  5. Mr Geek says:

    Indeed … we are mere spring chickens … in our prime … and with 2 weeks of rugby under my belt … I have barely an ache to my name … it is funny how things change so quickly. I could be feeling old again tomorrow evening ๐Ÿ˜•

  6. RC says:

    FYI… Missing you, so I tagged you. You’re it.

  7. Tendrils says:

    Mr. Geek—-where are you?!?!?!? We miss you! Come back to our bloggy world!

  8. tendrils says:

    I tagged you too. ๐Ÿ™‚ Come back! SOON!

  9. tendrils says:

    WOW!!!! You’re back! Hope al is well! ๐Ÿ™‚ We were about to send out the search parties!

Leave a Reply

