Bart Turns Bookworm

Book WormWell they do say that you can take a horse to water…

This is what instantly springs to mind when throughout the summer so far I keep turning around and there is Bart reading.

Don’t get me wrong he has always been a very capable reader, it is just that he gets a book every week during term time, and it is only through sheer force of effort (mostly expended by Mrs Geek) that he reads what he has to. It’s not that he can’t it is more that he can’t be bothered.

But in the past few weeks he has cleared the first two stacks of books the he got from the library progressing through the next.

I suspected that maybe he was missing school already, a claim I expected him to staunchly deny, but yesterday he told me that he wished he was back in school because he has to tidy his room while he is on holiday… I think he is missing his friends. (Not to mention all the love letters secret correspondence he keeps getting from a girl in his class)

What ever the reason it really is good to see him so enthusiastic about reading.

I’ll stop now before I jinx it.

2 Responses to Bart Turns Bookworm

  1. RC says:

    I was so like this as a child. My sisters and I got in trouble for reading in class. Yes, reading… Usually some other book, not related to the class, under the desk.

    Although I don’t want him to get into trouble, I am hoping my son develops that same passion for reading, so I read to him as much as possible.

  2. Mr Geek says:

    My son is a lot like me. I love to read, but I am easily distracted. Once I get reading something that I enjoy though I am quite obsessive about consuming it. I have to limit my reading as I get carried away and don’t do the other things that I am supposed to do, like sleep.

Leave a Reply

