Growing Up

On Wednesday my sweet little girl went for a taster day at her new school. Mrs Geek and I were concerned that she would be daunted by going in to a class where she was the new girl, but far from it. She excitedly got the uniform on and was keen to be just like her brother.

I'm Ready

I was so proud of her I almost burst.

However I know that she has been going to nursery, but I can not seem to shake the feeling that it is another step on the path to her deciding that Daddy is no longer the greatest person on earth, and as much as I know she has to grow up at some stage … but it doesn’t mean I have to like it.

And the thing is she is in such a hurry to grow up. The problem is that she is always following in the footsteps of her big brother, and she is trying to catch up, where as I want her to slow down and just enjoy being 4.

I really love the boy that my son has become (certain lapses in behaviour aside), but I already see the changes, the loss of youth mourn it for him. I no longer catch him just randomly singing like I used to, his TV programs are Ben 10 and Turtles instead of Bob the Builder and Andy Pandy.

Again, I know that this is all inevitable and that I need to let them grow up to be what they are going to be, and I am sure that I will love the people they turn into … However, just a little note to my babies … I’ll miss you.

Here are a few more pictures of my little princess waiting to be let loose on the world

Can we go nowStop taking photosWaiting

Leave a Reply

