If you’re happy and you know it …

A little word of warning before you continue to read this post. I intend to use this blog to record my thoughts feelings and generally what is going on in my life. It just so happens that at the moment I am actually very happy, and it has caused me to write the following saccharin sweet meringue of a post. I will not apologise for it as it is what is going on in my head right now, but it might be best read on an empty stomach. I will categorise this and any other future posts deserving such a label as “Happy Me” to make the easy to avoid for those with a weak constitution.

Every now and then, I am caused to stop and think about the choices I have made and how life has panned out. Looking back over the past 8 years it really is quite a bizarrely random path, that I would love to take credit for but I hardly feel that I was particularly involved in the decisions that formed it. They all seemed to make themselves (or been made for me).

8 years ago I had just entered the world of work and moved to the big city (London). I was being paid small fry money to live a big cheese life style, and to be honest I was enjoying living beyond my means. So when my then fiancée (Now Mrs Geek), let us call her “Little Miss Arts Student” and I found that we were expecting it was time for some rather major life decisions. Although unplanned and not really optimal timing, as she was still in her final year of university, I am glad to say, in retrospect, we took it rather well. The first thing was moving in with my parents to sort out my finances while Little Miss Arts Student lived at the opposite end of the country whilst she managed to complete her degree.

However we were living together, all be it at my parents house, for the final couple of months before My Son arrived. Now don’t get me wrong, my parents are great, and it was a lifesaver that I could come home to sort myself out, but I had a Soon-to-be-Wife and new born child, living with my parents felt like something of a failure.

Thankfully my father-in-law offered to loan us some money for a deposit on a house and we moved out when my son was 2 months old. However we were now the opposite end of the country to my wife’s family and with the new baby seemed to have switched on some kind of homing signal, and someone who, up until that point, had expressed an interest in living in places such as London, Paris or Madrid, was longing to live near a little town in the north west of England.

Thus we found ourselves moving up north. After another stay with parents (this time hers), whilst waiting for the previous owners of our new house to get out. So new jobs, new house, new city, new marriage and not too long after a new baby too.

After seven months of looking after my daughter my wife was back at work with a new motivation. In the following 3 years she has had 3 major promotions and 2 changes of job and I am now a kept man.

We i.e. my wife then decided that the house was a little cramped and after a long and drawn out period of having our house on the market, we managed to buy the house of our dreams. Don’t get me wrong, it has plenty do, but it really is a wonderful house.

We are now expecting our third addition to the clan, and I could not be happier. I really hope I am not coming across as smug, as most of it really was not of my making, and if I were a superstitious person I would knock on wood before uttering the following sentence, but I have to admit that currently I am as happy as a pig in sh… well what pigs are famously happy in, and it just so happens that life seems to be smelling of roses.

One Response to If you’re happy and you know it …

  1. […] of sayin’ how much you love me When we found out that we were having our first baby, Little Miss Arts Student (Now Mrs Geek) was still in her final year of university, and I was living at the opposite end of […]

Leave a Reply

